Lantau-China. Buddha.

 

This blog will be about positivity. That is the promise I’ve made to myself. I realize I ranted and spewed venom in my last post. I have had to take a step back in my judgement of recruiters. In the four to five months that I’ve been dealing with recruiters, I have experienced the entire spectrum as far as quality services. But before I get into my experiences since my last posting, let me give a quick update as far as my status. I am still waiting on my FBI background check. Hopefully, I will have an idea of where it stands after the Thanksgiving holiday. That’s it. Once I get it back and apostilled, I will be qualified to teach English as a Secondary language at most schools worldwide. Now that the housekeeping has been done, I must talk about one really good experience with a recruiter. I would say the best experience I’ve had with a recruiter so far. I liken it to meeting a future multi-year girlfriend. You know you’re going to get caught up, but you like it for however long it lasts. STC Consortium Limited, a U.K./British recruiting agency, has been the most thorough and accommodating recruiting agency, I’ve dealt with to this point. How so? First, like most recruiters, there is a website/job board where I uploaded my CV/resume. I was contacted within a few days by email, asking for the usual picture, passport, letters of reference, etc. After sending the requisite documents, I was immediately contacted to set up a Skype interview. Actually, I just finished the interview and this blog post may be prematurely lauding services yet to be rendered. However, I have a feeling about this one. I spent about an hour speaking with, not the recruiter, but the CEO of STC Consortium.

Maybe it was her warm British accent or her motherly affectations to my questions. I don’t know what it was exactly, but it felt right. I did my usual interview spiel, why I want to teach in China, the history, culture, the food, teaching any age, blah blah blah. But it wasn’t really blah blah blah afterwards. I was told STC Consortium was given the task of recruiting up to one hundred teachers, ten were already there in country and exactly what STC’s role would be in the process of my placement as a teacher with them. I was also assured that even if I didn’t decide on a placement in China, STC would be in contact with me, as they look to expand into other countries, specifically Malaysia. I think of myself as a good judge of character and I felt good when speaking with Susan of STC. She’s a former educator. And more importantly, taught ESL in a classroom. When we ended the interview, I felt good and thought she genuinely, in my words, “gave a shit”. Every recruiter I’ve dealt with up to this point has treated me like a number. You email them and they get back to you a week later. You interview with them and have to email them to prompt further actions. These are symptoms of a recruiter with more than one client that demand their time. Hey, it is what it is. However, I’ve worked in customer service related positions and I always treated each customer like they were the only person I had spoken with during the workday. It can be done. STC Consortium, so far, has done just that. It was almost familial. She told me a STC representative based in China would contact me next week about opportunities. I feel good about this one. After breaking out my voodoo doll and needles for the last Teaching in Asia entry, I am lighting the incense and rubbing the little fat dude’s stomach on this one. It’s almost karmic. A true Happy Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

